SEO packages are sold as tiers with a price, a keyword count and a list of deliverables. We read the 20 pages currently ranking for this term and priced every tier they publish. The prices are real. What sits underneath them is mostly undisclosed.
What is actually inside an SEO package?
An SEO package is a fixed monthly scope sold at a fixed monthly price. Underneath the tier names, the same five jobs recur across every seller we read: technical fixes, content, links, local listings, and reporting. What changes between a $99 tier and a $3,500 tier is how many of those five you get, how many hours go into them, and who does the work.
The problem is that packages are usually priced by countable units rather than by outcomes, and the units are chosen by the seller. Nine of the 20 pages cap keywords at a number. One sells unlimited keywords at $99 a month. Not one explains why a keyword count measures anything, or what actually changes between tracking 20 keywords and 50.
| What you are buying | Typically sold as | What the unit hides |
|---|---|---|
| Technical SEO | An audit, then fixes | Whether anyone implements the fixes, or you get a PDF and a to-do list |
| Content | A number of blog posts or optimized pages | Word count, who writes it, whether it is researched or generated |
| Links | A number of links, often banded by DA or DR | Whether the placement was paid, and who carries the risk if Google calls it a scheme |
| Local | Citations, listings, Google Business Profile posts | Who owns the profile, and what happens to it when you leave |
| Reporting | A monthly report | Whether you get raw data or a PDF, and whether anyone reads it with you |
Keep the link row in mind. It is the one line item that can leave your domain worse off than before you bought, and no page we read discloses how its links are obtained. If you want the equivalent breakdown for the content line specifically, our page on SEO content services prices that work the same way.
How much do SEO packages cost?
Between $65 and $7,000 a month, depending entirely on what the seller counts as a package. Here is every firm price we could read on a seller’s own page on 29 September 2026, sorted by entry tier.
| Seller | Entry tier | Top published tier | Setup fee | Contract stance as published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ultra SEO Solutions | $65/mo | $575/mo | Not stated | Month to month |
| SEO Rank My Business | $99/mo flat | $99/mo | Not stated | No contract, 30-day notice required |
| Mainstreethost | $149/mo (billed annually) | $999/mo | Not stated | Annual billing only term disclosed |
| Search Berg | $360/mo | $1,600/mo, custom from $2,568 | $199 one-time on-page | Not stated |
| WebTek | $495/mo | $1,100/mo | $1,000 all plans | No contract, cancel any time |
| Third Marble | $499/mo | $3,499/mo | Onboarding fee, $499 setup month on national | Month to month |
| Loganix | $500/mo | $1,000/mo | $500 one-time | No minimum, 30-day cancellation |
| Sitemile | $699/mo | $1,999/mo | Not stated | Cancel at end of any month |
| ClickReady | $1,050/mo | $5,500+/mo | Not stated | Month to month |
| Pronto Marketing | $1,099/mo | $1,899/mo | $775 to $975 | Not stated |
| Rank Harvest | $1,800/mo | $3,500+/mo | Not stated | No contract, cancel any time |
| OuterBox | $2,000/mo | $7,000+/mo | Not stated | Month to month |
Three sellers publish a setup fee. None of them adds it to the monthly to show a first-year number, and that arithmetic changes which package is actually cheaper.
WebTek at $495 a month with a $1,000 startup fee costs $6,940 in year one. Sitemile at $699 a month with no setup costs $8,388. Pronto at $1,099 a month plus $775 setup costs $13,963, more than double the WebTek figure. None of the three pages puts the buyer in a position to notice.
Why the guides and the sellers quote different prices
Something odd happens when you read all 20 pages together. The pages that write about SEO packages and the pages that sell them describe two different markets, and they rank for the same search.
| Pages that advise | Pages that sell | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical entry price quoted | $500 to $1,500 a month, sometimes $1,500 as the floor | Median entry tier of $499 a month |
| Lowest figure | Thrive: “$500 to $10,000+ per month”. eSEOspace puts local at $1,500 to $4,000 | $65 a month |
| Stance on cheap packages | Several warn that below a threshold the work cannot be real | Four of them sell below the price the advisory pages call dangerous |
| Names a real competitor price | None. Not one advisory page quotes a single named seller’s price | Not applicable |
Both groups are describing something true. The advisory pages mean a full-service, strategist-led retainer.
The sellers at the bottom of the range mean something narrower: listings management, a Google Business Profile service, directory and press release submissions, or content generated at volume. Those are not cheaper versions of the same product. They are different products wearing the same label.
That distinction is the single most useful thing to hold on to when comparing packages, and no page in this set draws it. It is also why a price comparison is close to meaningless unless you know which of the two you are being quoted for. To work out what a given monthly fee needs to return before it is worth paying, our SEO ROI calculator does the arithmetic.
What does $500 a month actually buy?
Roughly 17 to 24 hours of work a month, if the seller is doing the job properly. That is not our estimate. It is the published arithmetic of an agency owner who sells SEO retainers and shows his working.
Pete Everitt, co-founder of SEOHive, writing in The Admin Bar in December 2025, puts the minimum at “17-24 hours of work per month at a minimum” covering technical audits, content, link building, strategy, reporting and position tracking. His conclusion about what that means for the price, quoted in his own currency: “If you’re charging £500/month and doing all this yourself, you’re earning £20-30/hour”. He is blunt about the consequence: “If you’re charging £300-500/month for SEO, you’re either: 1) Not doing enough to move the needle 2) Losing money on every client at this level 3) Or worse, both.”
His own agency starts at £1,350 a month. We are quoting a competitor arguing against the price band we sell into, because it is the most honest number available and because you should hear it before you read ours.
Adrian Nikolov of Haide Digital makes the structural version of the same point, in July 2026. “A sub-$500/month fee mostly covers a provider’s overhead and leaves almost nothing for the labor line that actually moves rankings”. And “The gap is often filled with automated or spam tactics that carry penalty risk”. He puts strategist and specialist hours at 30 to 50 percent of a sound budget.
There is a counterweight worth stating, because the case is not one-sided. Practitioners who defend low-priced packages always name the same condition: a genuinely low-competition market or vertical. In that situation a small monthly scope can be enough, because there is little to outrank. We found no buyer who published numbers showing it worked, only practitioners describing the condition under which it could.
Is the SEO pricing data you are reading even current?
Mostly not. This is the finding we did not expect, and it changes how much weight any “2026 SEO pricing” article deserves, including the ones that outrank this page today.
The most-cited SEO pricing survey on the internet is Ahrefs’ SEO pricing study, which polled 439 providers. It was published on 17 December 2023 and last updated in August 2024. It states no fielding date and carries no methodology section. We checked the page directly.
Its headline figures are a $2,917 average monthly retainer and a most common band of $501 to $1,000 at 20.4 percent. Those two numbers sit underneath a very large share of the pricing advice published since.
The next most-cited is SE Ranking’s survey, published 13 December 2024, n=260, also with no disclosed fielding date. After that the trail goes cold. We could not find a single SEO-specific pricing survey fielded and published in the last twelve months, having checked Ahrefs, Semrush, SE Ranking, Search Engine Land, Search Engine Journal, Moz, Conductor and the agency benchmark reports.
| Source | Published | Sample | Fielding date disclosed? | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ahrefs SEO pricing study | 17 Dec 2023 | 439 providers | No | Most-cited figure in the category. Over two years old |
| SE Ranking pricing survey | 13 Dec 2024 | 260 providers | No | Most recent SEO-specific survey we could find |
| Credo hourly rate data | Pages updated 2022 to 2023 | 383 providers | No, references point to 2019 | Origin of the hourly rates still republished as current |
| Backlinko / Northstar client survey | Page dated 2026 | 1,200 US small businesses | Yes, fielded March to April 2019 | The only real client-side dataset. Seven years old |
| Clutch pricing averages | Updated 21 Sep 2026 | Not disclosed | Not a survey | Current, but derived from its own directory |
| SparkToro agency survey | Dec 2025 and Jan 2026 | 376 agency owners | Yes, Sep to Oct 2025 | Freshest and best documented, but not SEO-only |
Two things follow. First, when an article published this year quotes an average SEO retainer, it is very often quoting a poll taken in or before 2023 with the date filed off. Second, the Credo hourly rates that Semrush still publishes trace back to fieldwork referenced to 2019, so anyone citing them as 2026 rates is citing 2019.
A handful of widely repeated statistics could not be traced to any primary source at all. One frequently quoted claim says 81 percent of B2B companies expect to spend at least $7,500 a month on SEO, attributed to a report that does not contain it. Those have been left out rather than passed along.
What the packages do not tell you
We recorded the same eight disclosures across all 20 pages, chosen because each one changes what you are actually buying. Three of them are published by most sellers. Five are published by almost nobody, and those five are where the risk sits. These are the counts.
| Disclosure | How many of the 20 publish it |
|---|---|
| A firm price on a named package | 12 of 20 |
| A date or “as of” stamp on that price | 0 of 20 |
| Countable deliverables per tier | 11 of 20 |
| Cost per deliverable, from their own numbers | 0 of 20 |
| A result with an absolute date range | 0 of 20 |
| Anything about who owns the work | 2 of 20 |
| Who holds Analytics, Search Console or Google Business Profile | 0 of 20 |
| A named human author with credentials | 4 of 20, and none with an SEO credential |
Two of those deserve pulling out. Eight sellers publish both a price and a deliverable count, which means they have handed you both halves of a fraction, and not one divides. Nobody publishes a cost per link, per blog post, per optimized page, or an effective hourly rate.
And on proof: not a single page in the set attaches start and end dates to a result. The claims are real numbers with no window around them, such as a 736 percent traffic increase or 120 keywords in position one. One seller leaves a rankings table stamped 8 May 2022 live on a 2026 sales page as current evidence.
Should you trust a guaranteed SEO package?
No, and Google says so in one sentence. From Google’s own guidance on hiring an SEO, last updated 5 June 2026: “No one can guarantee a #1 ranking on Google.”
The same page continues: “Beware of SEOs that claim to guarantee rankings, allege a ‘special relationship’ with Google, or advertise a ‘priority submit’ to Google”. And on evaluating an audit: if they guarantee first place, “find someone else”.
Three of the 20 sellers offer a guarantee anyway. One ties payment to a ranking outcome. Not one of the three publishes the keyword set, the position threshold, the timeframe, the search location, or the tool that would settle a dispute. One qualifies the whole thing with the phrase “details apply” and links elsewhere.
The most instructive account runs the other way. On UK Business Forums in 2014, a former employee of a pay-on-results SEO business described “multiple instances of people getting the rankings and refusing to pay as it didn’t work for them”. The rankings were delivered and the clients still felt cheated, because rankings were not the outcome they wanted. A guarantee on the wrong unit satisfies nobody. Another participant put it plainly: “I don’t care if I am on the first page of Google if it isn’t bringing any sales.”
There is one guarantee shape that does hold up, and one seller in our set uses it: guaranteeing a deliverable rather than an outcome. Promising that a link will go live, or be replaced at no cost if it does not, is a promise the seller controls. Promising a position is a promise about Google’s behavior, which the seller does not control and cannot audit.
Worth noting for local businesses specifically: Google’s Business Profile third-party policies list “Guarantees top placement on Google” and “Claims that profiles will appear in Google Search or Google Maps at all times” as prohibited third-party conduct outright.
The link volume question nobody answers
Several packages in our set are priced by link count, running to thousands of links a month at the cheaper tiers. Google’s spam policies, last updated 28 August 2026, list “Buying or selling links for ranking purposes” and “Exchanging money for links, or posts that contain links” as link spam.
There is a permitted path, and it is the part that matters commercially. Google states it is not a violation “as long as they are qualified with a rel=”nofollow” or rel=”sponsored” attribute value”. But a link carrying those attributes does not pass ranking credit, which removes the reason the package was sold in the first place. So there is a question worth asking any seller pricing by link volume: are these links qualified with nofollow or sponsored, yes or no? Either answer tells you something. None of the 20 pages answers it, and Google is explicit that “you are responsible for the actions of any companies you hire”.
Who owns your site, content and accounts if you leave?
Two of the 20 pages say anything at all. None of the 20 says who holds your Google Analytics, your Search Console property or your Google Business Profile when the contract ends. This is the largest uncontested gap in the category and it is the one with teeth.
Scott Mazza, co-founder of Vitality CBD, published an account in TechRadar Pro on 30 July 2026 of what retained access can do. A contractor was terminated and, in his words, the company “made the big mistake of not immediately revoking access”. The contractor then “manually deindexed nearly all of our pages, one by one”. The result: “a 90% traffic drop, 50% sales drop”. Recovery “took the better part of four months”. During the audit the team also found “a security plugin quietly emailing daily activity to an unknown contact”.
That is one case and it is sabotage rather than a contract dispute. But it makes the ordinary version concrete: the access you grant is the access someone keeps until you take it back, and most buyers do not know what they have granted.
What Google actually says about access
Google gives one specific instruction in its hiring guidance, last updated 5 June 2026, and it is narrower than people assume. For the audit stage it says to “only grant read access to Search Console (at this stage, don’t grant them write access)”. Google names Search Console only. It publishes nothing about retaining Google Analytics access, so anyone telling you Google requires that is overstating it.
For local businesses the wording is much stronger. Google’s Business Profile third-party policies require that “All end customers must retain ownership or co-ownership of their Business Profile at all times”. They also list three things as prohibited third-party conduct: keeping a profile hostage in exchange for money, threatening that clients will lose their profile if they do not sign up, and putting undue pressure on a customer to stay. If an agency is doing any of those with your Business Profile, that is a policy violation, not a negotiating position.
The five questions to settle before you sign
- Whose name is on the accounts? Search Console, Analytics, Google Business Profile, Google Ads, Merchant Center. You should be the verified owner and the agency a user you can remove. Search Console ownership is verification-token based, so if you verify the property yourself you can revoke anyone at will.
- Who owns the content on payment? Get it in writing, and ask whether it stays live or comes down.
- What happens to the links? If placements are rented, ask what happens when payment stops.
- What do you get on exit? Keyword research, audits, historical reporting, raw data export.
- What is the notice period, and when does the last invoice land? Three of the 20 sellers state a notice period. One bills a final month if you miss the window.
If a seller cannot answer those five in writing before you pay, that is your answer.
What happens to your rankings if you stop paying?
Less than the industry implies, and the public evidence points in an awkward direction. This is the argument every agency uses to justify a rolling retainer, so we went looking for the data behind it. What we found was a category of claim that is asserted constantly and documented almost nowhere.
We went looking for a first-hand, named, dated account of a business stopping its SEO retainer and watching rankings decline over a stated number of months. That is the standard retention argument. We could not find one. Every page we opened ranking for this question was an agency selling retention, with no client data behind it.
The evidence that does exist points the other way: one business reporting a 34 percent traffic rise within six weeks of firing its agency, one case of rankings roughly doubling over a year with no work done, and practitioner test data showing rankings holding after links were removed. None of that proves stopping is free. It does mean the claim is being asserted far more confidently than the public evidence supports.
This matters most for agencies reselling SEO, where a client leaving mid-contract is somebody else’s problem to explain. We set out how we handle it in our white label SEO service.
The honest model is to separate what persists from what reverses. Technical fixes, indexed content, schema and internal linking stay when you stop. Rented links, ongoing local posting and paid placements do not. If a seller cannot tell you which half of their work is which, they are selling you the reversible half.
How long before an SEO package shows results?
Google no longer publishes a number, and the number everyone quotes is not current guidance. That matters when a seller uses a timeline to set your expectations, because the figure they are citing is probably older than the contract they want you to sign. Here is what is actually documented today.
The widely repeated “four months to a year” line comes from a Google video presented by Maile Ohye in 2017. It does not appear in Google’s live documentation today. We checked both the hiring page and the starter guide on 29 September 2026. What Google currently states, in the SEO Starter Guide updated 10 December 2025, is deliberately vaguer: “Some changes might take effect in a few hours, others could take several months”, and “In general, you likely want to wait a few weeks to assess” whether the work helped.
The best independent data is Ahrefs’ ranking timeline study, published 15 May 2025. Its method: one million random URLs crawled in September 2023 and tracked for a year, plus two million random URLs created in October 2023.
Three findings matter. Only 1.74 percent of newly published pages reach the top 10 within a year, rising to 6.11 percent for pages with English content. Of the pages that do make it, 40.82 percent got there within a month. And 72.9 percent of pages currently sitting in the top 10 are more than three years old.
Caveat worth stating: the underlying crawls are from 2023, even though the article carries a 2026 update stamp. We are flagging that because the whole point of this page is that dates matter.
The practical reading. Most new pages never reach the top 10 at all. The ones that do usually move early. So a seller asking for six months before anything is visible is asking for more patience than the data supports, and a seller promising results in 30 days is selling something other than competitive rankings.
Are cheap SEO packages a bad idea?
The best client-side evidence says buyers at the bottom of the market are much less happy, and we are going to put the number on the page even though we sell into that band.
The only large survey of SEO buyers rather than sellers was run by Backlinko with Northstar Research Partners, covering 1,200 US small business owners. Its findings are unflattering to the whole industry.
Only 30 percent would recommend their provider, giving the industry a net promoter score of zero. The dated release reports 44 percent leaving over results and 34 percent over poor service. And the finding that matters here: clients paying under $500 a month were 75 percent more likely to be dissatisfied.
The essential caveat, and we are stating it because the page’s own argument depends on dates: that survey was fielded between 28 March and 1 April 2019. It is seven years old. The live page carries a 2026 date, and its current figures do not reconcile with the numbers in the original dated press release, so we are using only the dated ones.
Our answer to that number, since we sell at $500
We think the survey measured something real and mislabeled the cause. Look at the two findings sitting next to it: 25 percent of buyers were unsure what they were paying for, and 27 percent found SEO confusing. Dissatisfaction at the bottom of the market is not mainly about the dollar figure. It is about buying something called “SEO” and receiving a narrower product without being told.
That is a scope problem, and scope is fixable. It is why our entry tier below is named, bounded and explicit about what it excludes, rather than sold as full-service SEO at a discount. If you buy a defined scope and get the defined scope, the $500 is not the variable that decides whether you are satisfied.
Where the price genuinely does decide the outcome: if you need a competitive national ranking against well-funded incumbents, $500 a month will not buy it, and the honest answer is to say so rather than take the money. The published market rate for that work is $1,000 to $2,500 a month and we will tell you when you are in that bracket.
What should a package include, in countable terms?
If a seller will not give you numbers, you cannot compare them and you cannot hold them to anything. Ask for these, in writing, per month.
| Ask for a number on | Why it matters | What a vague answer usually hides |
|---|---|---|
| Hours, and by whom | Separates a strategist’s hours from a junior’s | That nobody senior touches the account after the pitch |
| Pages actually changed | Recommendations are not implementation | That you receive a document and do the work yourself |
| Content pieces, with word count and who writes it | The single biggest cost line | Generated at volume, or an offshore first draft |
| Links, and whether they are paid | Decides whether the package is a liability | Paid placements without rel qualification |
| Report contents and delivery date | Reporting is where engagements quietly die | A PDF of vanity metrics and no raw data access |
| Response time and who you speak to | Service decay is the most common complaint | An account manager who relays messages |
Reporting is worth singling out, because it is where most engagements quietly fail. Our guide to what belongs in a monthly SEO report lists the metrics that should be in yours, and the piece on automated reporting explains why two tools counting the same traffic rarely agree.
Then do the division the sellers do not. Take the monthly fee, add a twelfth of any setup fee, and divide by the deliverables. A cost per blog post and a cost per optimized page make two packages comparable in a way that tier names never will.
What to ask before you buy, from Google
Google publishes its own interview list for hiring an SEO. It is short, free, and better than most vendor checklists. From Do you need an SEO?, last updated 5 June 2026, the questions Google says to ask:
- “Can you show me examples of your previous work and share some success stories?”
- “Do you follow the Google Search Essentials (previously known as Webmaster Guidelines)?”
- “What kind of results do you expect to see, and in what timeframe?” and “How do you measure your success?”
- “What’s your experience in my industry?” and “What’s your experience in my country/city?”
- “How long have you been in business?”
- “Will you share with me all the changes you make to my site” and “provide detailed information about your recommendations and the reasoning behind them?”
Google also tells you to run the test in reverse: “See if the SEO is interested in you and your business” and “If they’re not interested, find someone else.”
One item on that page is new in 2026, and it matters because a lot of packages now carry an AI line item. Google says to check whether the provider’s “advice aligned with Google Search’s official guidance on optimizing for generative AI features”. Its third-party SEO tools and advice page goes further. It names “Promising improvements for AI experiences and search formats (also known as ‘AEO’ or ‘GEO’ tools)” among the service categories to think critically about, and states plainly that “Google doesn’t evaluate third-party services, so be wary of such claims and those making them”.
If the AI line item is the part you actually care about, our answer engine optimization guide covers what is documented and what is inference, and our AI SEO service is the service page.
So there is no Google-approved SEO provider, no certification and no accredited package. Anyone implying otherwise is describing something that does not exist. Google is explicit that “Google never accepts money to include or rank sites in our search results”.
What we charge, and what it does not include
Everything above is a standard we would fail if we published a price with no date, no scope and no exit terms. So here is ours, held to the same test.
What the entry tier includes and excludes
| The $500 tier is | The $500 tier is not |
|---|---|
| A bounded monthly scope agreed in writing before you pay | A full-service national SEO campaign |
| Technical fixes implemented, not just recommended | Unlimited content production |
| Reporting where every figure carries a date range and a source | A guarantee of any ranking position |
| Your accounts in your name, from day one | A link-building volume package |
| An honest answer when the scope will not achieve your goal | Enough for a competitive national term against funded incumbents |
Who does the work: Ishant Sharma runs the account. Not a salesperson, then an account manager, then whoever is free. Published client work is on our case studies page.
We do not sell links by volume and we do not price by link count. On the arithmetic earlier in this page, $500 a month is roughly 17 to 24 hours if the work is done properly, and we would rather tell you what fits inside that than pretend it stretches further.
Our answers to the five exit questions
- Accounts. Search Console, Analytics, Google Business Profile, Google Ads and Merchant Center are created in your name and stay in your name. We are a user you can remove. We never ask to be the verified owner.
- Content. Yours on payment, in writing. It stays live when you leave.
- Links. We do not rent links, so there is nothing to remove when you stop paying.
- On exit. Keyword research, audits, briefs and historical reporting handed over as files, not screenshots.
- Notice. 30 days. The notice month is the last invoice. There is no cancellation fee and no clause that triggers one.
On guarantees: we do not offer one on rankings, for the reason Google gives and because we could not find a single buyer anywhere on the record who successfully claimed one. What we will commit to in writing is scope and delivery, which are the parts we control. Our reporting integrity standard sets out how we report, including the rule that a performance figure a client states in their own testimonial is never restated by us as our result.
Frequently asked questions
How much should an SEO package cost?
Across the 12 sellers we found publishing a firm entry price, the median is $499 a month and the range runs from $65 to $2,000. For a full-service, strategist-led retainer in the US, the defensible range from published vendor floors and survey data is $1,000 to $2,500 a month. Below roughly $800, published prices are almost always a narrower product, such as listings management or a Google Business Profile service, rather than a cheaper version of the same thing.
What is the cheapest real SEO package?
The cheapest firm price we found was $65 a month, and the cheapest from a seller publishing countable deliverables alongside it was $360. Whether either is real depends on what you need. On one agency owner’s published math, proper monthly work is 17 to 24 hours, so a sub-$500 fee implies an hourly rate that does not cover senior time. Cheap works only where competition is genuinely low.
Can an SEO agency guarantee first page rankings?
No. Google states plainly: “No one can guarantee a #1 ranking on Google”, and tells buyers to beware of anyone claiming to guarantee rankings or a special relationship with Google. Three of the 20 sellers we read offer a guarantee anyway, and none publishes the keyword set, threshold or tool that would settle a claim. We could not find one buyer on record who received a guarantee payout.
Do SEO packages require a long contract?
There is no market standard. Of the sellers we checked, most advertise month to month, one requires an initial six months on the same page that promises no long-term contracts, and elsewhere in the market 12-month minimums exist. Three of 20 state an actual notice period. Ask for the notice period and when the final invoice lands, because that is where the money is.
How long does an SEO package take to work?
Google no longer publishes a timeframe. Its current guidance says changes can take “a few hours” to “several months” and to wait a few weeks before assessing. Independent data from a study of two million URLs found 1.74 percent of new pages reach the top 10 within a year, 6.11 percent for English-language pages, and that of those that do, roughly 41 percent get there within a month. The “four to twelve months” figure people quote is from a 2017 Google video and is not current documentation.
Should I buy a monthly package or a one-off project?
Buy a project when you have a specific, finite problem: a migration, a technical audit, a set of pages to fix. Buy a retainer when the work is continuous, which mostly means content and competitive markets. The risk with retainers is paying for months where little happens, so tie the retainer to countable monthly deliverables and read the report.
Who owns the content and accounts when I leave an agency?
Whatever your contract says, which is why it needs to say something. Only two of the 20 pages we read mention ownership at all and none says who holds Analytics, Search Console or your Business Profile. Be the verified owner of your own Search Console property and Business Profile and add the agency as a user. Google requires that local businesses “retain ownership or co-ownership” of their Business Profile at all times and lists keeping a profile hostage as prohibited conduct.
Will my rankings drop if I stop paying for SEO?
Some of it reverses and some of it does not. Technical fixes, published content and schema stay. Rented links, ongoing local posting and paid placements do not. We looked hard for a first-hand, dated account of a business stopping SEO and watching rankings decline, and could not find one; every page arguing it was an agency selling retention. Ask your provider which half of their work persists.
Are the links in an SEO package safe?
Ask whether they are paid and whether they carry rel=”nofollow” or rel=”sponsored”. Google’s spam policies list buying links for ranking purposes as link spam, and permit paid links only when qualified with those attributes, at which point they pass no ranking credit. Packages priced by link volume rarely answer this, and Google states you are responsible for the actions of companies you hire.
Can a cheap SEO package damage my site?
It can, through the link line rather than the price itself. Volume link packages and automated tactics are what a sub-$500 budget tends to fund once overhead is covered, and Google’s spam policies put the consequence on your domain, not the seller’s. Cheap on-page work and reporting is low risk. Cheap links are not.
Do I even need to pay for SEO?
Not always, and Google says so first. Its guidance opens by noting that if you run a small local business you “can probably do much of the work yourself”, and recommends starting with its own free starter guide. It also notes it costs nothing to appear in organic results. Pay for SEO when the work is beyond your time or expertise and the traffic is worth more than the fee, not because a package exists.
How do I compare two SEO packages fairly?
Convert both to the same units. Add a twelfth of any setup fee to the monthly, then divide by the countable deliverables to get a cost per blog post, per optimized page and per hour. Then compare the things tier names hide: notice period, who does the work, whether links are paid, and what you get on exit. Eight of the sellers we read publish enough to do this and not one does it for you.
How this page was researched
Research completed 29 September 2026. Every price, count and quote was read on a primary source and recorded with its URL and date. Where a figure could not be traced to a primary source we left it out, and we have said so where the gap matters.
What we read, and what we counted
Seller pricing. We found the pages currently ranking for “seo packages” and related terms and read 20 of them in full, on their own sites. For each we recorded whether it publishes a price, whether that price is dated, whether deliverables are countable, whether a contract term or notice period is stated, whether ownership is addressed, whether a guarantee is offered, and whether a named author appears. Every count on this page comes from that record. No third-party listicle or directory was used for any price.
Benchmark data. We checked Ahrefs, SE Ranking, Credo, Clutch, SparkToro, Backlinko, Moz, Semrush, Conductor and the agency benchmark reports for pricing surveys, then read each source page to confirm its sample size, publication date and whether a fielding date was disclosed. That check is what produced the finding that no SEO-specific pricing survey has been published in the last year.
Google facts. Everything attributed to Google comes from Google’s own live pages, each checked on 29 September 2026. The hiring guidance and third-party tools guidance were both last updated 5 June 2026, the SEO Starter Guide on 10 December 2025, and the Search spam policies on 28 August 2026. The Business Profile third-party policies carry no printed date. Where Google documents nothing, the page says so rather than substituting a vendor blog.
Buyer and practitioner evidence. Quotes come from named, dated sources we opened ourselves, across trade press, practitioner blogs, business forums and review platforms. Where a source sells a competing service we say so in the text.
What we could not establish
Reddit was unreachable throughout this research, as were LinkedIn, X, Quora and YouTube, so nothing from those platforms appears here even where we identified relevant material. We found no first-hand, named account of a buyer successfully claiming an SEO ranking guarantee, and no first-hand, dated account of rankings naturally declining after a business stopped paying an agency. We found no documented good outcome from a sub-$500 package with both a stated price and a stated result, and no named buyer on record in 2025 or 2026 saying a $2,000-plus retainer was worth it. Those are gaps in the public record, not findings that the thing never happens.
One source conflict we could not resolve: the live Backlinko page reports figures for why clients leave that do not reconcile with the numbers in the original dated 2019 press release for the same study. We used the dated figures and flagged the discrepancy rather than pick the more dramatic ones.
Our interest. Hustle Marketers sells SEO. This page compares our pricing against sellers we compete with, and we have published our own price, scope, notice period and exclusions to the same standard we measured them against. We take no affiliate or referral commission from any company named here, and none was contacted or given sight of this page before publication.








